The School of Electrical Engineering and Automation was formally established in 1993 and had developed from the original Department of Electrical and Mechanical Engineering founded in 1920. With electrical engineering being one of the first two disciplines developed in HIT and one of the earliest of its kind in the country, the School of Electrical Engineering of HIT has achieved many firsts in China during its development spanning over a century, such as China’s first lightning arrester for rotating electric machines, China’s first stepping motor for meters and clocks.

Currently, there are 189 staff in the school. Our faculty is composed of 153 teachers, including 62 professors, 65 associate professors, 26 lecturers, 61 of whom are doctoral supervisors. The faculty line-up also includes one academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering, two recipients of the National Distinguished Teacher Award, two IEEE Fellows, two Changjiang Distinguished Professors, two winners of the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, two winners of the National Science Fund for Excellent Young Scholars, three teachers shortlisted for the National 10,000 Talents Program and one for the national division of the Hundred-Thousand-and-Ten Thousand Talents Program.


The School of Electrical Engineering was among the first few Chinese institutions which offered a doctoral program and a post-doctoral fellowship program in electrical engineering as a first-level discipline , and electrical engineering at HIT is recognized as a national defense key discipline and a key discipline of Heilongjiang Province. In the fourth national assessment of disciplines of Chinese institutions of higher education, the school was rated as A- in electrical engineering (tied for the fifth position in the country). Electrical engineering at HIT consists of 4 sub-disciplines, which are electrical machine and apparatus, power electronics and electrical drives, electrical power system and theories & novel technologies of electrical engineering. Motors and electrical appliances, one of the sub-disciplines of the school, is listed as a national key discipline at the second level and a national-defense-oriented discipline.


The school’s research facilities include the Innovation and Scholar Recruiting Base for Internationally Advanced Electric Drive Technology and four key laboratories at provincial and ministerial levels such as the MOE Key Laboratory for Electric Drive & Propulsion Technology and the Key Laboratory of Sustainable Energy Conversion and Control Technology of Heilongjiang Province. With great strength and capacity in research, the school plays an important part in the Big Science project “Space Environment Simulation Research Infrastructure” and researches undertaken by the National Key Laboratory of Robotics and Systems and has been a major partner in the joint construction of the National Research Center of Precision Micro & Special Electric Machine Engineering and Technology. Addressing the significant national needs and international academic frontiers, the school has made continuous innovations and breakthroughs in the fields such as Micro & Special Motor System, High Precision Servo Control System, as well as Reliability in Electrical Apparatus and Electronics. Over the years, a great number of key innovation achievements at the internationally advanced level have been obtained. Since the initiation of the Twelfth Five-Year Plan, 2 major national technology awards (the State Technological Invention Award and the State Scientific and Technological Progress Award) and 13 provincial and ministerial science and technology achievement awards have been granted to the school. 


The school has established three minors: Electrical Engineering and Automation, Architectural Electrical Engineering and Intellectualization and Energy Internet. In 2019, the minor of Electrical Engineering and Automation was accepted into the National Development Program for First-class Undergraduate Programs. With a solid background as well as a distinctive strength in education, the school has a national teaching team, a national demonstration center for teaching with experiments in electric and electronic engineering, a national engineering practice education center, 4 national-level quality courses, 4 national-level quality resource-sharing courses and 6 national-level MOOCs. Since the beginning of the Twelfth Five-Year Plan, 2 national teaching achievement awards and 11 provincial-level teaching achievement awards have been obtained.  


Upholding the HIT motto “Rigor and Mastery” as well as the university values “Patriotism, Truthfulness, Solidarity and Striving”, the school has aimed at cultivating “top and innovative talents who have solid theoretical knowledge in electrical engineering field, great ability in engineering practice and innovation as well as high international view”. In the meantime, more than 18,000 students have graduated from the school. The elite of our graduates includes a great number of academic masters, industrial talents and leaders such as Academician and Professor Yu Daguang, who is admired as one of the “HIT 800 Heroes”, Professor Qin Zenghuang, who is respected as a great mind and mentor in electrical engineering, Li Changchun, a national leader of China, and Shang Zhi, the chief commander of the Shenzhou Spacecraft Project .